Louis Wetmore appointed to the NC DOT Board of Directors

OmniStar Financial Group is honored to announce Louis S. Wetmore, of our Hickory, NC office, has been appointed to the North Carolina Department of Transportation Board of Directors. Wetmore will be the Board representative for Division 12 which is composed of Catawba, Cleveland, Alexander, Gaston, Iredell and Lincoln counties. The Department of Transportation Board comprises 19 members; 14 of whom represent specific divisions with 5 at-large members. The board is responsible for overseeing the allocation of funds and resources for all of North Carolina’s transportation facilities including highways (construction and maintenence) rail, ferry, aviation and bicycle and pedestrian facilities.

After being appointed by Governor Pat McCrory in June of 2013, Wetmore was sworn in on July 19, 2013 by state Supreme Court Judge, Paul Newby.

As a division 12 board representative, Wetmore will also serve on three MPO’s (Metropolitan Planning Organizations). Each of these MPO’s boast a professional staff whose responsibilities include short and long range planning of all transportation projects that are proposed to the full DOT board for evaluation and action. Wetmore will work with these staff members and local elected officials to prioritize those transportation projects that benefit the highest number of our citizens and represent the most efficient use of the DOT’s budgeted funds.